Animal Season

Publisher: Math Paper Press

From a crow and his famous pitcher to a story about a spiteful bee, Aesop’s fables have been known to instruct or affirm universal truths. For Cyril Wong, however, many of them have much to answer for, their allegorical messages leaving much to be desired in a world potentially without meaning or grand design. Animal Season takes over from where the more familiar fables left off, interrogating the originals or rewriting them, in the hope that new truths might be unearthed.

About the Author
Cyril Wong has been called a confessional poet, according to The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry, based on “the brutally candid sexuality in his poetry, along with a barely submerged anxiety over the fragility of human connection and a relentless self-querying”. He is the Singapore Literature Prize-winning author of poetry collections such as Unmarked Treasure, Tilting Our Plates to Catch the Light, The Dictator’s Eyebrow, After You and The Lover’s Inventory. He has also published Ten Things My Father Never Taught Me and Other Stories and a novel, The Last Lesson of Mrs de Souza. Cyril has served as a mentor under the Creative Arts Programme and the Mentor Access Project, as well as a judge for the Golden Point Awards in Singapore. A past recipient of the National Arts Council’s Young Artist Award for Literature, he completed his doctoral degree in English Literature at the National University of Singapore in 2012. His poems have been anthologised in Language for a New Century: Contemporary Poetry from the Middle East, Asia and Beyond (W. W. Norton 2008) and Chinese Erotic Poems (Everyman’s Library 2007).

ISBN: 9789811473708
Cover Type: Softcover
Page Count: 72
Year Published: 2020
Language: English

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed